Human Resources

Toggle

Article

long-weekend-planning-iStock

How to get 14 long weekends in Malaysia for 2019



"The Asia Recruitment Award is the oscars of the recruitment industry. A display of the best of the best!"
Start your entries preparation early.
Open to both in-house recruitment & talent acquisition teams and recruitment solution providers.

When it comes to planning for holidays, the earlier you plan, the more time you have to seek the best deals.

With employees in Malaysia receiving an average of only 16 vacation days a year, here’s how you can make the most of your precious annual leave to enjoy multiple long weekends in 2019.


Note: The long weekends listed below take into account both national and state holidays for FT Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, and Penang. Dates to take leave for are indicated in red and bold.

Use 10 vacation days to enjoy 14 long weekends in FT Kuala Lumpur

#1 New Year (state holiday) – 1 Jan 2019 (Tue)
Long weekend days: 29 Dec 2018 (Sat), 30 Dec 2018 (Sun), 31 Dec 2018 (Mon), 1 Jan 2019 (Tue)

#2 Thaipusam (state holiday) – 21 Jan 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 19 Jan 2019 (Sat), 20 Jan 2019 (Sun), 21 Jan 2019 (Mon)

#3 Federal Territory (FT) Day (state holiday) and Chinese New Year (national holiday) – 1 Feb 2019 (Fri) and 5 Feb 2019 (Tue) to 6 Feb 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 1 Feb 2019 (Fri), 2 Feb 2019 (Sat), 3 Feb 2019 (Sun), 4 Feb 2019 (Mon), 5 Feb 2019 (Tue), 6 Feb 2019 (Wed)

#4 Workers’ Day (national holiday) – 1 May 2019 (Wed) 
Long weekend days: 1 May 2019 (Wed), 2 May 2019 (Thu), 3 May 2019 (Fri), 4 May (Sat), 5 May (Sun)

#5 Wesak Day (national holiday) – 19 May 2019 (Sun)
Long weekend days: 18 May 2019 (Sun), 19 May 2019 (Sun), 20 May 2019 (Mon)

#6 Nuzul Al-Quran (state holiday) – 22 May 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 22 May 2019 (Wed), 23 May 2019 (Thu), 24 May 2019 (Fri), 25 May 2019 (Sat), 26 May 2019 (Sun)

#7 Hari Raya Puasa (national holiday) – 5 Jun 2019 (Wed) to 6 Jun 2019 (Thu) *
Long weekend days: 5 Jun 2019 (Wed), 6 Jun 2019 (Thu), 7 Jun 2019 (Fri), 8 Jun 2019 (Sat), 9 Jun 2019 (Sun)

#8 Hari Raya Qurban (national holiday) – 11 Aug 2019 (Sun) *
Long weekend days: 10 Aug 2019 (Sat), 11 Aug 2019 (Sun), 12 Aug 2019 (Mon)

#9 National Day and Awal Muharam (Maal Hijrah) (national holidays) – 31 Aug 2019 (Sat) and 1 Sep 2019 (Sun)
Long weekend days: 31 Aug 2019 (Sat), 1 Sep 2019 (Sun), 2 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#10 SPB Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s Birthday (national holiday) – 9 Sep 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 7 Sep 2019 (Sat), 8 Sep 2019 (Sun), 9 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#11 Malaysia Day (national holiday) – 16 Sep 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 14 Sep 2019 (Sat), 15 Sep 2019 (Sun), 16 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#12 Deepavali (national holiday) – 27 Oct 2019 (Sun) *
Long weekend days: 26 Oct 2019 (Sat), 27 Oct 2019 (Sun), 28 Oct 2019 (Mon)

#13 Nabi Muhammad’s Birthday (national holiday) – 9 Nov 2019 (Sat)
Long weekend days: 9 Nov 2019 (Sat), 10 Nov 2019 (Sun), 11 Nov 2019 (Mon)

#14 Christmas (national holiday) – 25 Dec 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 25 Dec 2019 (Wed), 26 Dec 2019 (Thu), 27 Dec 2019 (Fri), 28 Dec 2019 (Sat), 29 Dec 2019 (Sun)


Note: The long weekends listed below take into account both national and state holidays. Dates to take leave for are indicated in red and bold.

Take 12 days of leave to enjoy 15 long weekends in Selangor

#1 New Year (state holiday) – 1 Jan 2019 (Tue)
Long weekend days: 29 Dec 2018 (Sat), 30 Dec 2018 (Sun), 31 Dec 2018 (Mon), 1 Jan 2019 (Tue)

#2 Thaipusam (state holiday) – 21 Jan 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 19 Jan 2019 (Sat), 20 Jan 2019 (Sun), 21 Jan 2019 (Mon)

#3 Chinese New Year (national holiday) – 5 Feb 2019 (Tue) to 6 Feb 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 2 Feb 2019 (Sat), 3 Feb 2019 (Sun), 4 Feb 2019 (Mon), 5 Feb 2019 (Tue), 6 Feb 2019 (Wed)

#4 Workers’ Day (national holiday) – 1 May 2019 (Wed) 
Long weekend days: 1 May 2019 (Wed), 2 May 2019 (Thu), 3 May 2019 (Fri), 4 May (Sat), 5 May (Sun)

#5 Wesak Day (national holiday) – 19 May 2019 (Sun)
Long weekend days: 18 May 2019 (Sun), 19 May 2019 (Sun), 20 May 2019 (Mon)

#6 Nuzul Al-Quran (state holiday) – 22 May 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 22 May 2019 (Wed), 23 May 2019 (Thu), 24 May 2019 (Fri), 25 May 2019 (Sat), 26 May 2019 (Sun)

#7 Hari Raya Puasa (national holiday) – 5 Jun 2019 (Wed) to 6 Jun 2019 (Thu) *
Long weekend days: 5 Jun 2019 (Wed), 6 Jun 2019 (Thu), 7 Jun 2019 (Fri), 8 Jun 2019 (Sat), 9 Jun 2019 (Sun)

#8 Hari Raya Qurban (national holiday) – 11 Aug 2019 (Sun) *
Long weekend days: 10 Aug 2019 (Sat), 11 Aug 2019 (Sun), 12 Aug 2019 (Mon)

#9 National Day and Awal Muharam (Maal Hijrah) (national holidays) – 31 Aug 2019 (Sat) and 1 Sep 2019 (Sun)
Long weekend days: 31 Aug 2019 (Sat), 1 Sep 2019 (Sun), 2 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#10 SPB Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s Birthday (national holiday) – 9 Sep 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 7 Sep 2019 (Sat), 8 Sep 2019 (Sun), 9 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#11 Malaysia Day (national holiday) – 16 Sep 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 14 Sep 2019 (Sat), 15 Sep 2019 (Sun), 16 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#12 Deepavali (national holiday) – 27 Oct 2019 (Sun) *
Long weekend days: 26 Oct 2019 (Sat), 27 Oct 2019 (Sun), 28 Oct 2019 (Mon)

#13 Nabi Muhammad’s Birthday (national holiday) – 9 Nov 2019 (Sat)
Long weekend days: 9 Nov 2019 (Sat), 10 Nov 2019 (Sun), 11 Nov 2019 (Mon)

#14 Sultan of Selangor’s Birthday (state holiday) – 11 Dec 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 11 Dec 2019 (Wed), 12 Dec 2019 (Thu), 13 Dec 2019 (Fri), 14 Dec 2019 (Sat), 15 Dec 2019 (Sun)

#15 Christmas (national holiday) – 25 Dec 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 25 Dec 2019 (Wed), 26 Dec 2019 (Thu), 27 Dec 2019 (Fri), 28 Dec 2019 (Sat), 29 Dec 2019 (Sun)


Note: The long weekends listed below take into account both national and state holidays. Dates to take leave for are indicated in red and bold.

Take 10 days of leave to enjoy 16 long weekends in Penang

#1 New Year (state holiday) – 1 Jan 2019 (Tue)
Long weekend days: 29 Dec 2018 (Sat), 30 Dec 2018 (Sun), 31 Dec 2018 (Mon), 1 Jan 2019 (Tue)

#2 Thaipusam (state holiday) – 21 Jan 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 19 Jan 2019 (Sat), 20 Jan 2019 (Sun), 21 Jan 2019 (Mon)

#3 Chinese New Year (national holiday) – 5 Feb 2019 (Tue) to 6 Feb 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 2 Feb 2019 (Sat), 3 Feb 2019 (Sun), 4 Feb 2019 (Mon), 5 Feb 2019 (Tue), 6 Feb 2019 (Wed)

#4 Workers’ Day (national holiday) – 1 May 2019 (Wed) 
Long weekend days: 1 May 2019 (Wed), 2 May 2019 (Thu), 3 May 2019 (Fri), 4 May (Sat), 5 May (Sun)

#5 Wesak Day (national holiday) – 19 May 2019 (Sun)
Long weekend days: 18 May 2019 (Sun), 19 May 2019 (Sun), 20 May 2019 (Mon)

#6 Nuzul Al-Quran (state holiday) – 22 May 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 22 May 2019 (Wed), 23 May 2019 (Thu), 24 May 2019 (Fri), 25 May 2019 (Sat), 26 May 2019 (Sun)

#7 Hari Raya Puasa (national holiday) – 5 Jun 2019 (Wed) to 6 Jun 2019 (Thu) *
Long weekend days: 5 Jun 2019 (Wed), 6 Jun 2019 (Thu), 7 Jun 2019 (Fri), 8 Jun 2019 (Sat), 9 Jun 2019 (Sun)

#8 Anniversary of Declaration of Penang as a World Heritage Site (state holiday) – 7 Jul 2019 (Sun)
Long weekend days: 6 Jul 2019 (Sat), 7 Jul 2019 (Sun), 8 Jul 2019 (Mon)

#9 Penang Yang di-Pertua’s Birthday (state holiday) – 13 Jul 2019 (Sat)
Long weekend days: 13 Jul 2019 (Sat), 14 Jul 2019 (Sun), 15 Jul 2019 (Mon)

#10 Hari Raya Qurban (national holiday) – 11 Aug 2019 (Sun) *
Long weekend days: 10 Aug 2019 (Sat), 11 Aug 2019 (Sun), 12 Aug 2019 (Mon)

#11 National Day and Awal Muharam (Maal Hijrah) (national holidays) – 31 Aug 2019 (Sat) and 1 Sep 2019 (Sun)
Long weekend days: 31 Aug 2019 (Sat), 1 Sep 2019 (Sun), 2 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#12 SPB Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s Birthday (national holiday) – 9 Sep 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 7 Sep 2019 (Sat), 8 Sep 2019 (Sun), 9 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#13 Malaysia Day (national holiday) – 16 Sep 2019 (Mon)
Long weekend days: 14 Sep 2019 (Sat), 15 Sep 2019 (Sun), 16 Sep 2019 (Mon)

#14 Deepavali (national holiday) – 27 Oct 2019 (Sun) *
Long weekend days: 26 Oct 2019 (Sat), 27 Oct 2019 (Sun), 28 Oct 2019 (Mon)

#15 Nabi Muhammad’s Birthday (national holiday) – 9 Nov 2019 (Sat)
Long weekend days: 9 Nov 2019 (Sat), 10 Nov 2019 (Sun), 11 Nov 2019 (Mon)

#16 Christmas (national holiday) – 25 Dec 2019 (Wed)
Long weekend days: 25 Dec 2019 (Wed), 26 Dec 2019 (Thu), 27 Dec 2019 (Fri), 28 Dec 2019 (Sat), 29 Dec 2019 (Sun)


Note

  • Where a holiday falls on a weekly rest day (Friday or Sunday as applicable), the following day is substituted as a public holiday and if such following day is also a public holiday, then the next day following it shall be a public holiday.
  • Additionally, where a public holiday falls on another public holiday, the following day is substituted as a public holiday.
  • Public holidays marked with * are subject to change.

ALSO READ: Malaysia announces public holidays for 2019

The first Managing Mental Health & Wellbeing in the Workplace online course will be launched in December.
Register your interest for the course at the introductory price of SGD199.

Read More News

Trending