All travellers from Australia will have to serve a 14-day SHN, while Singapore citizens and PRs entering from Jiangsu province, Mainland China will have a seven-day SHN.

Following a recent increase in COVID-19 cases reported by Australia, effective 2 August 2021 (Monday), 2359 hours, all travellers entering Singapore with a travel history (past 21 days) to Australia will have to serve a 14-day Stay-Home Notice (SHN) at dedicated SHN facilities.

In an update on Friday (31 July), Singapore's Ministry of Health said travellers will also be allowed to apply to opt out of dedicated SHN facilities before arrival, and serve their 14-day SHN at their place of residence, if they fulfil the following criteria:

  1. Travelled to no other country/region other than Australia, in the last consecutive 21 days immediately prior to entry into Singapore; and
  2. Are occupying their place of residence (i.e. residential address) alone, or only with household members who are also persons serving SHN with the same travel history and duration of SHN.

These travellers will be required to present a valid negative COVID-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test taken within 72 hours before departure for Singapore. Those who arrive in Singapore without a valid negative test may be denied entry.

The Taskforce has also stressed that Permanent Residents (PRs) and long-term pass holders who fail to comply with the new requirement may have their permit or pass cancelled.

Beyond the 14-day SHN, travellers will be subjected to the following tests:

a) On-arrival PCR test and PCR test on Day 14 of arrival; and
b) Self-administered antigen rapid test on Day 3, 7 and 11 of arrival.

Effective the same date (2 August, 2359 hours), all Singapore Citizens, PRs and Long-Term Pass holders entering Singapore with travel history to Jiangsu province, Mainland China within the last 21 days before departure for Singapore, will be subject to an on-arrival COVID-19 PCR test, a 7-day SHN at their place of residence, and a COVID-19 test before the end of the SHN period.

This comes amid a rise in COVID-19 cases in the Jiangsu province, the Minisitry of Health stated.

In addition to the tightened measure above, all short-term travellers holding an Air Travel Pass, with travel history ( last 21 days) to Jiangsu province before departure for Singapore, will not be allowed to enter Singapore.

At the same time, all other travellers departing from Mainland China who have been in Mainland China (excluding Jiangsu province) in the last 21 days prior to travel will continue to be subject to a COVID-19 test upon arrival at the airport in lieu of their SHN.

Photo collage / 123RF

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region!