Starting 1 January 2020, major towns under 57 city and municipality councils in Malaysia will see a raised minimum monthly wage of RM,1200, the Human Resource Ministry has announced in a statement, Bernama reported.

This will apply to all employers in those towns, and "the order would be gazetted soon in line with the decision." Meanwhile, the minimum monthly wage for the rest of the country will remain at RM1,100.

The new minimum wage applies to all workers in the private sector except domestic service as stipulated in the Minimum Wages Order 2018. The statement, cited by Bernama, said that this decision was made following the tabling of Budget 2020, and during a cabinet meeting on 6 December 2019. This was done with an aim to assist workers in these areas in coping with the high cost of living, it added.

"The implementation of RM1,200 minimum wage in major towns and RM1,100 per month in other areas, was defined under section 2 of the Employment Act 1955 (Act 265), Sabah Labour Ordinance and Sarawak Labour Ordinance," the statement said.

Additionally, the minimum wage will undergo further reviews to keep in line with the country's current needs and in line with Pakatan Harapan’s objective of achieving a minimum wage of RM1,500 a month in its first five years.

The raised minimum monthly wages will take place in the following areas:

  1. Johor Bahru
  2. Iskandar Puteri
  3. Alor Setar
  4. Melaka
  5. Penang
  6. Seberang Perai
  7. Ipoh
  8. Shah Alam
  9. Petaling Jaya
  10. Kuala Terengganu
  11. North Kuching
  12. South Kuching
  13. Miri
  14. Kota Kinabalu
  15. Kuala Lumpur
  16. Batu Pahat
  17. Kluang
  18. Kulai
  19. Muar
  20. Segamat
  21. Pasir Gudang
  22. Kulim
  23. Sungai Petani
  24. Langkawi
  25. Kubang Pasu
  26. Kota Bharu
  27. Alor Gajah
  28. Jasin
  29. Hang Tuah Jaya
  30. Seremban
  31. Nilai
  32. Port Dickson
  33. Jempol
  34. Kuantan
  35. Temerloh
  36. Bentong
  37. Manjung
  38. Kuala Kangsar
  39. Taiping
  40. Teluk Intan
  41. Kangar
  42. Ampang Jaya
  43. Kajang
  44. Klang
  45. Selayang
  46. Subang Jaya
  47. Sepang
  48. Kemaman
  49. Dungun
  50. Padawan
  51. Sibu
  52. Kota Samarahan
  53. Bintulu
  54. Sandakan
  55. Tawau
  56. Labuan
  57. Putrajaya

Photo / iStock