Talent & Tech Asia Summit 2024
Travellers entering Indonesia from 60 countries and territories subject to a Special Tourist Arrival visa

Travellers entering Indonesia from 60 countries and territories subject to a Special Tourist Arrival visa

The list of countries/territories includes Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines, Thailand, India, Vietnam, and Hong Kong.

Travellers entering Indonesia from 60 countries (full list below) will be subject to a Special Tourist Arrival Visa (Visa Kunjungan Saat Kedatangan Khusus Wisata, or VKSKKW), the Indonesian Immigration Department shared on 10 May 2022 (Tuesday). With that, travellers can enter Indonesia through nine airports, 11 sea ports, and four cross-border posts.

To obtain the visa, the department explained that travellers must show a passport (with a validity of at least six months), a return ticket (or a canal ticket) to continue traveling to another country, a proof of payment for visa on arrival, and a proof of ownership insurance at an insurance company with an Indonesian legal entity, which includes health financing, as long as the traveller is in the territory of Indonesia.

"The visa tariff of IDR500,000 is in accordance with Government Regulation no. 28 of 2019. The extension is the same, the fee is IDR500,000. The residence permit originating from the visa can be extended once for a period of 30 days and carried out at the immigration office according to the area where the foreigner lives while in Indonesia," the Sub-Coordinator of Public Relations of the Indonesia Immigration Department, Achmad Nur Saleh explained.

Achmad further emphasised that residence permits from the visa "cannot be transferred", and that the holder is also "not allowed to apply" for an extension of the residence permit through the granting of an onshore visa. With that, he warned that travellers must comply with Indonesia's immigration rules.

"The owner or manager of the inn is obliged to provide information or data regarding foreigners staying overnight to facilitate the supervision of foreigners. Foreigners who are proven to have misused their residence permits will be subject to immigration sanctions. Likewise, if they are proven to have violated health protocols and disrupt public order, they will be subject to sanctions according to the applicable laws and regulations," he added.

60 countries/territories under the Special Tourist Arrival Visa (VKSKKW)

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Mainland China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, and Vietnam.

9 airports open to VKSKKW

Hang Nadim, Riau Islands; Soekarno Hatta, DKI Jakarta; Ngurah Rai, Bali; Kualanamu, North Sumatra; Juanda, East Java; Hasanuddin, South Sulawesi; Sam Ratulangi, North Sulawesi; Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, and Zainuddin Abdul Majid, West Nusa Tenggara.

11 seaports open to VKSKKW

Benoa, Bali; Dumai, Riau; Nongsa Maritime Terminal, the Riau Archipelago; Batam Centre, the Riau Archipelago; Sekupang, the Riau Archipelago; Citra Tri Tunas, the Riau Archipelago; Marina Bay Senimba, the Riau Archipelago; Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi, the Riau Archipelago; Bandar Seri Udana Lobam, the Riau Archipelago; Sri Bintan Temple, the Riau Archipelago, and Tanjung Balai Karimun, the Riau Archipelago.

4 cross-border ports open to VKSKKW

Entikong, West Kalimantan; Aruk, West Kalimantan; Mota'ain, East Nusa Tenggara, and Tunon Taka, Kalimantan.

Also readNo more quarantine for fully-vaccinated travellers entering Indonesia from 21 March

Image / 123RF

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region! 

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region!

Free newsletter

Get the daily lowdown on Asia's top Human Resources stories.

We break down the big and messy topics of the day so you're updated on the most important developments in Asia's Human Resources development – for free.

subscribe now open in new window