Following Negeri Sembilan, Johor Bahru, Kedah and Sarawak have now joined the list of states offering special financial aid to local civil servants in conjunction with the Aidilfitri celebration this year.

In a report by Bernama, it was revealed that a total of 19,100 state civil servants in Johor will receive RM1,000 each for Aidilfitri. State secretary Datuk Azmi Rohani said the payment would be made on June 16.

"The financial aid is given to ease the financial burden of civil servants," he added.

Likewise, the Sarawak government announced that each civil servant will be receiving RM500 for the same affair. State secretary Mohammad Morshidi Abdul Ghani said the special aid would also be given to staff of state statutory bodies and local government authorities.

“Payment of the special financial aid will be made on June 15,” he said in a statement to Free Malaysia Today.

Last but not least to join the list, Kedah state government had agreed to giving RM500 to its civil servants which would be officially announced after the state executive council meeting on June 14. Retirees too will be receiving their share of RM250 each, Bernama reported.

In summary, these are the dates and details on Aidilfitri Aid for each state:


Date: 14 June 2017

Allowance: RM500 for civil servants, RM250 for retirees

Negeri Sembilan, Sarawak

Date: 15 June 2017

Allowance: RM500 for both countries

Johor Bahru

Date: 16 June 2017

Allowance: RM1,000

ALSO READ: MP Wong: Malaysian civil servants shouldn’t have side businesses

Photo/ 123RF