public holidays

Back-to-back public holidays in store in February for Chinese New Year, and in May for Hari Raya Puasa. Meanwhile, National Day/Merdeka Day falls on a Wednesday, and Malaysia Day falls on a Friday.

The Prime Minister's Office of Malaysia (Jabatan Perdana Menteri) has released the entire calendar of public holidays in Year 2022 that applies to both federal and states. In total, there are 12 federal and 32 state public holidays to look forward to.

Continue below to find the date of the respective holidays, and the states involved.

Federal public holidays 2022

  • 1 February, Tuesday: Chinese New Year

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 2 February, Wednesday: Chinese New Year (second day)

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, and Selangor.

  • 1 May, Sunday: Labour Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 3 May, Tuesday: Hari Raya Puasa*

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 4 May, Wednesday: Hari Raya Puasa (second day)*

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 15 May, Sunday: Vesak Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 6 June, Monday: Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 10 July, Sunday: Hari Raya Qurban (Feast of Sacrifice/Aidiladha)*

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 11 July, Monday: Hari Raya Qurban (second day)*

Applicable to: Kelantan and Terengganu.

  • 30 July, Saturday: Awal Muharam (Maal Hijrah) [Islamic New Year]

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 31 August, Wednesday: National Day/Merdeka Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 16 September, Friday: Malaysia Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 9 October, Sunday: Prophet Muhammad's Birthday

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 24 October, Monday: Deepavali

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 25 December, Sunday: Christmas Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

*Subject to changes.

State public holidays 2022

  • 1 January, Saturday: New Year's Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, and Selangor.

  • 14 January, Friday: Sultan of Negeri Sembilan's birthday

Applicable to: Negeri Sembilan

  • 18 January, Tuesday: Thaipusam Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang, and Selangor.

  • 1 February, Tuesday: Federal Territory Day

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya.

  • 2 February, Wednesday: Chinese New Year (Second Day)

Applicable to: Kelantan and Terengganu.

  • 1 March, Tuesday: Isra and Mi'raj

Applicable to: Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, Perlis, and Terengganu.

  • 4 March, Friday: Coronation Anniversary of the Sultan of Terengganu

Applicable to: Terengganu.

  • 23 March, Wednesday: Sultan of Johor's Birthday

Applicable to: Johor.

  • 3 April, Sunday: Beginning of Ramadan*

Applicable to: Johor, Kedar, and Melaka.

  • 15 April, Friday: Good Friday

Applicable to: Sabah and Sarawak.

  • 15 April, Friday: Melaka Declaration Day

Applicable to: Melaka.

  • 19 April, Tuesday: Hari Nuzul Al-Quran (Muhammad's first revelation)

Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor, and Terengganu.

  • 26 April, Tuesday: Sultan of Terengganu's Birthday

Applicable to: Terengganu.

  • 17 May, Tuesday: King of Perlis's Birthday

Applicable to: Perlis.

  • 22 May, Sunday: Hari Hol

Applicable to: Pahang.

  • 30 May, Monday: Kaamatan Festival (Harvest Festival)

Applicable to: Labuan and Sabah.

  • 31 May, Tuesday: Kaamatan Festival (Harvest Festival) (second day)

Applicable to: Labuan and Sabah.

  • 1 June, Wednesday: Gawai Dayak

Applicable to: Sarawak.

  • 2 June, Thursday, Gawai Dayak

Applicable to: Sarawak.

  • 19 June, Sunday: Sultan of Kedah's Birthday

Applicable to: Kedah.

  • 7 July, Thursday: Anniversary of the Declaration of World Heritage Sites

Applicable to: Penang.

  • 9 July, Saturday: Day of Arafah

Applicable to: Terengganu.

  • 9 July, Saturday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Penang's Birthday

Applicable to: Penang.

  • 11 July, Monday: Eid al-Adha (Second Day) *

Applicable to: Kedah and Perlis.

  • 22 July, Friday: Sarawak Independence Day

Applicable to: Sarawak.

  • 30 July, Saturday: Sultan of Pahang's Birthday

Applicable to: Pahang.

  • 24 August, Wednesday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Melaka's Birthday

Applicable to: Melaka.

  • 3 September, Saturday: Hari Hol of the late Sultan Iskandar

Applicable to: Johor.

  • 1 October, Saturday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sabah's Birthday

Applicable to: Sabah.

  • 8 October, Saturday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak's Birthday

Applicable to: Sarawak.

  • 4 November, Friday: Sultan of Perak's Birthday

Applicable to: Perak.

  • 11 November, Friday: Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday

Applicable to: Kelantan.

  • 12 November, Saturday: Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday

Applicable to: Kelantan.

  • 11 December, Sunday: Sultan of Selangor's Birthday

Applicable to: Selangor.

  • 24 December, Saturday: Christmas Eve

Applicable to: Sabah.


ALSO READSingapore's 2022 public holidays: 5 long weekends in store


Image / 123RF

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region!