Malaysia's cabinet has released the official list of public holidays for 2021, with a total of five long weekends to look forward to nationally. The dates, set out as national holidays and state-specific holidays, are as follows:

National holidays 

(Dates in red are long weekends)

Date 

Holiday 

States applicable

Friday, 1 January 

New Year’s Day

All except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis, Terengganu

Thursday, 28 January 

Thaipusam

Johor, Kuala Lumpur, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Perak, Putrajaya, Selangor

Monday, 1 February 

Federal Territory Day

Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya

Friday, 12 February 

Chinese New Year

All

Saturday, 13 February 

Chinese New Year Day 2

All

Thursday, 11 March 

Israk and Mikraj

Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, Perlis, Terengganu

Friday, 2 April 

Good Friday

Sabah, Sarawak

Tuesday, 13 April 

Awal Ramadan 

Johor, Kedah, Melaka

Thursday, 29 April 

Nuzul Al-Quran

All except Johor, Kedah, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Sabah, Sarawak

Saturday, 1 May  

Labour Day

All

Thursday, 13 May* 

Hari Raya Puasa

All

Friday, 14 May* 

Hari Raya Puasa Day 2

All

Wednesday, 26 May 

Wesak Day

All

Sunday, 30 May 

Harvest Festival

Labuan, Sabah

Monday, 31 May 

Harvest Festival Day 2

Labuan, Sabah

Monday, 7 June 

Yang di-PertuanAgong’s Birthday

All

Tuesday, 20 July* 

Hari Raya Haji

All

Wednesday, 21 July* 

Hari Raya Haji Day 2

Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis, Terengganu

Tuesday, 10 August* 

Awal Muharram

All

Tuesday, 31 August 

Merdeka Day

 All

Thursday, 16 September 

Malaysia Day

All

Tuesday, 19 October 

Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday

All

Thursday, 4 November* 

Deepavali

All except Sarawak

Saturday, 25 December 

Christmas

All

*Dates are subject to change 

Individual, State-specific holidays 

Date 

Holiday 

State 

Thursday, 14 January

Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan’s Birthday

Negeri Sembilan

Thursday, 4 March

Sultan of Terengganu’s Coronation Day

Terengganu

Tuesday, 23 March

Sultan of Johor’s Birthday

Johor

Thursday, 15 April

Declaration of Melaka as a Historical City

Melaka

Monday, 26 April

Sultan of Terengganu’s Birthday

Terengganu

Saturday, 22 May

Hari Hol Pahang

Pahang

Tuesday, 1 June

Hari Gawai

Sarawak

Wednesday, 2 June

Hari Gawai Day 2

Sarawak

Sunday, 20 June

Sultan of Kedah’s Birthday

Kedah

Wednesday, 7 July

Georgetown World Heritage City Day

Penang

Saturday, 10 July

Yang di-Pertua Negeri Pulau Pinang’s Birthday

Penang

Saturday, 17 July

Raja Perlis’ Birthday

Perlis

Monday, 19 July

Arafah Day

Terengganu

Thursday, 22 July

Sarawak Day

Sarawak

Friday, 30 July

Sultan of Pahang’s Birthday

Pahang

Monday, 13 September

Hari Hol Almarhum Sultan Iskandar

Johor

Saturday, 2 October

Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sabah’s Birthday

Sabah

Friday, 8 October

Yang di-Pertua Negeri Melaka’s Birthday

Melaka

Saturday, 9 October

Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak’s Birthday

Sarawak

Friday, 5 November

Sultan of Perak’s Birthday

Perak

Thursday, 11 November

Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday

Kelantan

Friday, 12 November

Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday Day 2

Kelantan

Saturday, 11 December

Sultan of Selangor’s Birthday

Selangor

Friday, 24 December

Christmas Eve

Sabah

Note:

  • Where a holiday falls on a weekly rest day (Friday or Sunday as applicable), the following day is substituted as a public holiday and if such following day is also a public holiday, then the next day following it shall be a public holiday.
  • Additionally, where a public holiday falls on another public holiday, the following day is substituted as a public holiday.

Photo / HRO

Human Resources Online is on Telegram! Follow us @humanresourcesonline or click here for all the latest weekly HR and manpower news from around the region.