With effect from 1 March 2019 (Friday), flexible working hours, or waktu bekerja fleksi (WBF) will be implemented in all ministry and federal departments in selected states in Malaysia.

This was announced in a circular on the Public Service Department's (Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam) Facebook page, issued by the department's Director-General Datuk Seri Borhan Dolah, and will apply to civil servants working in Putrajaya, Kuala Lumpur, Johor, Terengganu, Perlis, Perak, Sarawak, Sabah and Selangor.

With this implementation, official office hours in these states will now begin at 7.30am and end at 5.30pm, while on Thursdays it will be from 7.30am to 4pm in Johor and Terengganu.

This means workers can clock in anytime between these hours and clock out after nine hours (whereby one hour is allocated to break time) - for instance, if a worker clocks in at 8.07am, they can clock out at 5.07pm. However, they will be considered late if they clock in anytime after 8.30am.

Refer to the infographic below for further implementations under this WBF programme:


Lead photo and infographic / Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam's Facebook page