Full list of Malaysia public holiday dates in 2023

There are 12 federal and 32 state public holidays in 2023, with seven long weekends to look forward to in certain states/territories.

The Prime Minister's Office of Malaysia (Jabatan Perdana Menteri) has released the entire calendar of public holidays in Year 2023 for both federal and states. In total, there are 12 federal and 32 state public holidays to look forward to.

The dates of the respective holidays, and the states involved, are listed below.

Federal public holidays 2023

22 January, Sunday: Chinese New Year
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

23 January, Monday: Chinese New Year (second day)
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, and Selangor.

22 April, Saturday: Hari Raya Puasa*
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

23 April, Sunday: Hari Raya Puasa (second day)*
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

1 May, Monday: Labour Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

15 May, Sunday: Vesak Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

5 June, Monday: Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

29 June, Thursday: Hari Raya Qurban (Feast of Sacrifice/Aidiladha)*
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

30 June, Friday: Hari Raya Qurban (second day)*
Applicable to: Kelantan and Terengganu.

19 July, Wednesday: Awal Muharam (Maal Hijrah) [Islamic New Year]
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

31 August, Thursday: National Day/Merdeka Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

16 September, Friday: Malaysia Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

28 September, Thursday: Prophet Muhammad's Birthday
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

12 November, Sunday: Deepavali
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Selangor, and Terengganu.

25 December, Monday: Christmas Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu.

*Subject to changes.

State public holidays 2022

1 January, Sunday: New Year's Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, and Selangor.

14 January, Saturday: Sultan of Negeri Sembilan's birthday
Applicable to: Negeri Sembilan

23 January, Monday: Chinese New Year (Second Day)
Applicable to: Kelantan and Terengganu.

1 February, Wednesday: Federal Territory Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya.

5 February, Sunday: Thaipusam Day
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang, and Selangor.

18 February, Saturday: Isra and Mi'raj
Applicable to: Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, Perlis, and Terengganu.

4 March, Saturday: Coronation Anniversary of the Sultan of Terengganu
Applicable to: Terengganu.

23 March, Thursday: Beginning of Ramadan*
Applicable to: Johor, Kedah, and Melaka.

23 March, Thursday: Sultan of Johor's Birthday
Applicable to: Johor.

7 April, Friday: Good Friday
Applicable to: Sabah and Sarawak.

8 April, Saturday: Hari Nuzul Al-Quran (Muhammad's first revelation)
Applicable to: Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya, Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor, and Terengganu.

15 April, Saturday: Melaka Declaration Day
Applicable to: Melaka.

26 April, Wednesday: Sultan of Terengganu's Birthday
Applicable to: Terengganu.

17 May, Wednesday: King of Perlis's Birthday
Applicable to: Perlis.

22 May, Sunday: Hari Hol
Applicable to: Pahang.

30 May, Tuesday: Kaamatan Festival (Harvest Festival)
Applicable to: Labuan and Sabah.

31 May, Wednesday: Kaamatan Festival (Harvest Festival) (second day)
Applicable to: Labuan and Sabah.

1 June, Thursday: Gawai Dayak
Applicable to: Sarawak.

2 June, Friday, Gawai Dayak
Applicable to: Sarawak.

18 June, Sunday: Sultan of Kedah's Birthday
Applicable to: Kedah.

28 June, Wednesday: Day of Arafah
Applicable to: Kelantan, Terengganu.

30 June, Friday: Hari Raya Qurban (Second day)
Applicable to: Kedah, Perlis

7 July, Thursday: Anniversary of the Declaration of World Heritage Sites
Applicable to: Penang.

8 July, Saturday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Penang's Birthday
Applicable to: Penang.

22 July, Saturday: Sarawak Independence Day
Applicable to: Sarawak.

30 July, Sunday: Sultan of Pahang's Birthday
Applicable to: Pahang.

23 August, Wednesday: Hari Hol of the late Sultan Iskandar
Applicable to: Johor.

24 August, Thursday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Melaka's Birthday
Applicable to: Melaka.

7 October, Saturday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sabah's Birthday
Applicable to: Sabah.

14 October, Saturday: Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak's Birthday
Applicable to: Sarawak.

3 November, Friday: Sultan of Perak's Birthday
Applicable to: Perak.

11 November, Saturday: Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday
Applicable to: Kelantan.

12 November, Sunday: Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday
Applicable to: Kelantan.

11 December, Monday: Sultan of Selangor's Birthday
Applicable to: Selangor.

24 December, Sunday: Christmas Eve
Applicable to: Sabah.


Lead image / Shutterstock

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region!