閱讀中文版本

Three holidays fall on a Saturday. The year's Chinese New Year holiday sits in the middle of the week, between Tuesday and Thursday.

The Hong Kong government has announced the dates of 17 public holidays for 2022.

Three holidays fall on a Saturday. The year's Chinese New Year holiday sits in the middle of the week, between Tuesday and Thursday. Those who don't want to have a restless week in February might want to apply for a leave on that Monday or Friday. The good news is, with two holidays falling on a Friday, four on Monday and one on both Friday and Monday, employees can expect to see seven long weekends in 2022

Public holidays for 2022 are as follows: 

  • New Year's Day
    1 January 2022 (Saturday)
  • Chinese New Year
    1 February 2022 (Tuesday)
    2 February 2022 (Wednesday)
    3 February 2022 (Thursday)

  • Ching Ming Festival
    5 April 2022 (Tuesday)

  • Easter
    15 April 2022 (Friday)
    16 April 2022 (Saturday)
    18 April 2022 (Monday)

  • The day following Labour Day
    2 May 2022 (Monday)

  • The day following Buddha's Birthday
    9 May 2022 (Monday)

  • Tuen Ng Festival
    3 June 2022 (Friday)

  • HKSAR Establishment Day
    1 July 2022 (Friday)

  • Mid-Autumn Festival
    12 September 2022 (Monday)

  • National Day
    1 October 2022 (Saturday)

  • Chung Yeung Festival
    4 October 2022 (Tuesday)

  • The days after Christmas 
    26 December 2022 (Monday)
    27 December 2022 (Tuesday)

Note from the government:

  • As Labour Day and the Birthday of the Buddha in 2022 both fall on a Sunday, the day following them will be designated as a general holiday in substitution. 
  • Since the day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival in 2022 falls on a Sunday, the second day following that festival will be designated as a general holiday in substitution.
  • As Christmas Day in 2022 falls on a Sunday, the second weekday after Christmas Day will be designated as a general holiday in substitution.

Here are the seven long weekends in 2022: 

1. Easter (4 days)

  • 15 April 2022 (Friday) to 18 April 2022 (Monday)

2. Labour Day (3 days)

  • 30 April 2022 (Saturday) to 2 May 2022 (Monday)

3. Buddha's Birthday (3 days)

  • 7 May 2022 (Saturday) to 9 May 2022 (Monday)

4. Tuen Ng Festival (3 days)

  • 3 June 2022 (Friday) to 5 June 2022 (Sunday)

5. HKSAR Establishment Day(3 days)

  • 1 July 2022 (Friday) to 3 July 2022 (Sunday)

6. Mid-Autumn Festival (3 days)

  • 10 September 2022 (Saturday) to 12 September 2022 (Monday)

7. Christmas (4 days)

  • 24 December 2022 (Saturday) to 27 December 2022 (Tuesday)

Photo/ Unsplash