Malaysia's Prime Minister?Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin yesterday announced the appointment of his new cabinet, with Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC)'s deputy president?Datuk Seri M. Saravanan taking on the role as Minister of Human Resources.

He takes over from M. Kulasegaran, and will now oversee the country's industrial relations, labour matters, skills development and other manpower-related issues.

Apart from this, for the first time in Malaysian history, no deputy prime minister had been appointed; while four senior ministers were named:?Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, International Trade and Industry Minister; Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, Defence Minister; Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, Works Minister, and Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin, Education Minister.

There are a total of 31 ministers in this new cabinet, with further appointments including?Datuk Dr Noraini Ahmad as Minister of Higher Education,?Datuk Seri Dr Adham Baba as Minister of Health, Datuk?Seri Rina Harun (Minister of Women and Family), and Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri (Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture).

Lead image / Datuk Seri M. Saravanan's Facebook page